Panning 101

Part 2:  I learned how to pan.  Not for gold but action shots.  I had tried this before with little…okay no success.  Trying to achieve the perfect balance of shutter speed, aperture, and moving your body in sync with a moving object.  Not so easy.  You would think piece of cake right? (Chocolate for me please.)  It took 45 minutes and a lot of getting back on a horse which may or may not exist.  In the end I did find a rhythm and have success.  I decided that at some point in life I need to venture out to the Bonneville Salt Flats and try out this new skill on the very cool, very fast roadsters that are raced there.  Cool cars that go fast.  What more could I ask for?  Okay I can think of a couple of things but that is for another post entirely.

Also, just a side note.  Standing on the corner with 10 other people and a camera warrants blank and often funny stares from individuals diving cars, bikes, and trucks.  Just so you know. 😀



Leave a comment

Filed under Lessons in Photography

Leave a Reply

