Turkey Day 2010

I love Thanksgiving.  I think it is a some what under appreciated holiday.  Thanksgiving has always meant the beginning of the holiday season.  Christmas music, twinkle lights, hot chocolate, and scarfs and hats all seem to fit better into life once Thanksgiving has happened.  There is a happiness in the air that I think comes from us being grateful for the wonderful life we each have been given.

The other reason I love Thanksgiving is the food.  I seem to have little to no self control when it comes to turkey, stuffing, potatoes, yams, and rolls.  I stuff myself and then when asked do you want pie? even though I can’t move I say, “Yes!” with a huge smile on my face.  Not only do I like eating the food for a full week leading up to Thanksgiving I am glued to the Food Channel.  I want to see exactly what Martha did on yesterday’s show so I too can have a turkey fit for a magazine cover.  Yes I still am at home and my mom does most of the cooking but I join in the fun and it is great to work side by side in the kitchen with one of my best friends.

Since Thanksgiving is a holiday of gratitude and this is a photography blog, I have given myself a challenge to photograph things on my “happy list” or those things I am grateful for.  It seems as soon as I cross one thing off two more appear on this list.  So because it’s on the brain and I am just a curious person, what are you grateful for or what is a favorite thanksgiving memory?  I would love to hear from you.

Happy Thanksgiving a little late!

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “Turkey Day 2010

  1. Alexa

    One of the things I am grateful for is family. I love spending time with my family:D I am also very grateful to be getting Austin home for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

