Memory Lane: Fireworks

I have always loved fireworks and thought that they loved me back until I was 6(ish) years old and my cousins bought bottle rockets for the 4th of July.  They were illegal.  I just thought they were pretty.  It wasn’t either of our faults really, the bottle fell over and to avoid sending a bottle rocket onto someone’s porch my cousin kicked it (the bottle).  I was the new target and while the details are now fuzzy I do remember I was hit with something in the thumb.  This was the first time I realized that fireworks weren’t all pretty.

Fireworks and I made up when I was 9.  My family traveled to Lake Tahoe, California.  We stayed at the Embassy Suites and had all the ice cream we could eat.  My brother, sisters, and I also made up games involving the elevators.  I’m sure the hotel staff was happy to see us leave.  On Independence Day we trucked a mile to the beach, set up camp, and settled into what would be a long day.  I was pooped on by a bird…eeeewwww!  The sun went down and it was finally time to see the show.  Luckily we were right next to a life guard stand and could hear the soundtrack to the fireworks on the boom box.  It was an amazing fireworks display.  One of the best I have seen.  I again loved fireworks.

This year to celebrate our nations birth I headed to Sugarhouse park with some friends to see their fireworks.  While it didn’t compare with the Lake Tahoe show it was fun to be with friends and have a camera handy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Favorite things, Happy List, Personal

Leave a Reply

